More Coaching

Today started with a jog, uphill sprints in intervals and running home at a fast clip which is an important way for me to stay centered and productive.

Right now the sun is out, I feel a summer breeze and I hear the wind chimes on my porch. This is how I like to work, because it doesn’t feel any different from the rest of life. It’s all one and the same puzzle.

More Excerpts from my coaching manual…

COACHES PLEASE REMEMBER:

Keep it simple
Be Repetitive

A skater’s entire experience is influenced by what a coach says, does, and / or doesn’t say. What happens at practice obviously determines someone’s derby future but also leads to life changes and possibly their ENTIRE FUTURE. Don’t forget that what a coach (or even a peer) says and does really matters, so don’t crush anyone, choose your words and be a good sport.

Introduce discipline to intermediate skaters and increase it as they become more advanced. By the time they are the cream of the crop they should know how to be accountable, have consistancy and pack awareness 100% of the time on the floor.

COACHES EMPOWER THEIR SKATERS.

If a skater feels powerless they won’t be in charge of setting their OWN goals, right? If they don’t think about why they are skating or what they are trying to do it is much harder for them to act with intention. Remind them to identify what they’d like to get out of the day’s practice.

Teams have to have guidelines and united goals to experience the group efficacy to be champions. If a coach can’t offer this up to skaters, it will be nearly impossible for them to follow suit.

Assume the Athlete Doesn’t know:

Repetition is a primary tool for teaching. Beginning skaters don’t need more than about FIVE drills (ever) and those five should involve stance, core strength, weight transfer and endurance.

Don’t talk about or introduce more than what is necessary.
Be objective, with purpose—Talk about the situation, not the person.

Be certain that Assistant coaches teach the same principles and stay in control of the vibe. Connect with all team members, not just the best of them. Encourage Feedback

Create an Atmosphere that teaches and adheres to a high standard of behavior and execution. Help hold the athlete accountable.

Remember that ROOKIES are not ready to be All Stars!

Try to be an objective observer and problem solver: Instead of calling someone out for back blocking try reminding them to look at the holes they can be jumping into, or backtrack to do a juking drill.

If there is someone that a coach doesn’t like and won’t talk to them about it they should quit coaching immediately.

Effective coaches use mistakes as a vehicle for teaching, rather than placing blame; it is much better to reinforce a job well done.

And that is what I have to say about coaching today.

Derby LOVE and safe skating!

About thehotflashseattle

I'm a person who found derby at JUST the right time in my life to give me hope, make me stronger and experience something that had been waiting for me all these years! My mightiest goal is to mainstream the sport of roller derby. My selfish goal is to help other people find ways to skate,connect and inspire each other to get back on track when they begin to slip off and help them up when they fall. Doing this helps me believe that there are others ready to do the same for me. In 2012 I had four surgeries, two of which were mastectomies and now at 57 I'm cancer free and back on track. Three years ago on this profile I claimed not to be a "great" coach but wanted to share what I knew. I am revising that statement at this time because I have figured out that I'm a survivor, a warrior and a damn good coach! I am the founder of OneWorld Roller Derby in the Greater Seattle area. We are sharing our resources to help other leagues form and we're creating a circuit that is coming together utilizing USA Roller Sports as a common link. We are bring roller derby to schools, colleges, parks departments and community centers across the US. Helping each other through the pack is what makes life work for me. In the world we get knocked down, get back up, reset and help each other through the pack. We look ahead for the holes to jump through. We gain momentum to find the endurance we need to be able to make it around the track one more time even when we don't think we can. Derby = life = Derby; It's all the same game to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

