Woah!

I was thinking removing the tissue expander to stop the reconstruction process would be a breeze. In and out on the same day; using only tylenol etc.

HOLY HELL.  I’ve had to get up every 6 hours to stay on top of the pain and I’m really shocked at how painful this is having needed a general Anestesia, coming home drains in my body (again) and wandering around to make breakfast for myself so I can take my meds. 

On a good note I will be back to skating FULLY including scrimmages within 2- 3 weeks.

Another great thing about this is I’ll be healed faster so I can get an MRI on the other side sooner than if I’d been able to keep the reconstruction process going. The peace of mind that the “undetectable cancer found during the mastectomy that can’t bee detected on a mammogram” isn’t on the other side.

I’m thrilled that my daughter Jessica aka Miss Fortune is coming into town today until Sunday Evening. She is here for a wedding; and I don’t think that care taking care of MOM is in the plans (That’s ok, Roggie will be off work the next two days) but I do hope to wrangle her ass to lead a derby clinic for my skaters on Friday night or Saturday morning.  This, of course is all depending on the wedding goings on; but whatever the case is I get to see my girl who lives so far away.

I am still REALLY excited and happy to move forward once and for all and can opt for doing the reconstruction in the future. My guess is that I won’t be interested because I don’t feel at ALL like I’d want to go through that again.

I get to come back and skate!!! Soon!! Woo Hoo!!

Don’t  forget that you are welcome to to contact me if you need any forms or help with your league. The best email to use is thehotflash56@gmail.com or fill out the form on our website http://oneworldrollerderby.com  If I have already have created the forms for my own leagues I’m happy to share for anyone to use as a template.

Derby LOVE!!

 

 

About thehotflashseattle

I'm a person who found derby at JUST the right time in my life to give me hope, make me stronger and experience something that had been waiting for me all these years! My mightiest goal is to mainstream the sport of roller derby. My selfish goal is to help other people find ways to skate,connect and inspire each other to get back on track when they begin to slip off and help them up when they fall. Doing this helps me believe that there are others ready to do the same for me. In 2012 I had four surgeries, two of which were mastectomies and now at 57 I'm cancer free and back on track. Three years ago on this profile I claimed not to be a "great" coach but wanted to share what I knew. I am revising that statement at this time because I have figured out that I'm a survivor, a warrior and a damn good coach! I am the founder of OneWorld Roller Derby in the Greater Seattle area. We are sharing our resources to help other leagues form and we're creating a circuit that is coming together utilizing USA Roller Sports as a common link. We are bring roller derby to schools, colleges, parks departments and community centers across the US. Helping each other through the pack is what makes life work for me. In the world we get knocked down, get back up, reset and help each other through the pack. We look ahead for the holes to jump through. We gain momentum to find the endurance we need to be able to make it around the track one more time even when we don't think we can. Derby = life = Derby; It's all the same game to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Woah!

  1. Jerry Seltzer says:

    Remember the Star Trek movie about the whales when the doc says I forgot what butchery was going on this century! You just get well so we can tango at Rollercon…..

  2. Jen Kiernan says:

    Are you getting the care you need, hon? It sounds like you could use an extra pair of hands around for a couple days, whether they’re your daughter’s or someone else’s! Don’t try to do it all yourself! But YAY for the expander being out… This sounds like a really wise (and brave!) decision for you, and I’ll bet you won’t regret it. Hang in there and get some rest.

    • Thanks Jen. This morning I’m alone but my daughter will fly in from Philly today getting a ride from my other daughter. I am hoping that at least ONE of them will hang today. My guy is off work tomorrow and the next day so I think is good.

      I didn’t arrange anything today because I didn’t realize it was the major thing that it turned out to be. I’ll survive the next few hours! 🙂 I see a nap in the near future.

      xoxoxox Jen Kiernan.

  3. John Rolfe says:

    From the fiery battles of the oil fields in ’91, I can honestly say that your bravery in your situation rivals the very best of our military. This old Vet proudly salutes Donna TheHotFlash Kay!

    • Hi John… you really flatter me. Getting breast cancer and trying to deal with it in a positive manner pales in comparison to war heroes, and in particular, YOU.

      Do you have a blog John? You have some amazing stories to tell and my guess is that many would follow it. I know I would. 🙂

      Thank you my friend!!

Leave a Reply

