Endings and Beginnings

Sometimes I wonder about celebrating endings and think about how to have more awareness about these times. I don’t remember the last time I held my kids on my hip or the last time things that we take for granted might occur. I think that birthdays should be celebrated on the last day of whatever age you are.

This moring I woke up and thought that this is the last day I’ll have my own right breast. I decided to celebrate the day and had the best mother’s day I ever could have hoped for. My son brought me a GIANT plate with the following:

Coffee Cake
2 containers of yogurt
A dish of peanut butter
A dish of cottage cheese
A partially toasted english muffin
A granola bar that had been kindly unwrapped
A huge glass of orange juice.

I ate SOME of this fantastic breakfast in bed with him encouraging me and watching me. We went upstairs before I dug in so I could show him how to make me a cup of coffee; a skill that every child should be able to do for their mother.. along with foot rubs.. I digress.

I reclaimed my space and my beautiful bedroom along with my son; we’d traded about a year ago. He helped me move furniture all day and my daughter came by to help also and she hung pictures on the walls.

My wonderful skater / girlfriend / angels Frida and Marcelle came over yesterday and cleaned my house to help me prepare for recovery and that was the reason I was able to dig into the rest of it today.

My back is sore and my feet are sore but I’m pretty sure that it will fit right into mastectomy recovery tomorrow so not a worry. I’m glad I took the time to have a productive day. When I come home this week my room will be bright and colorful; my house will be calm and will be a wonderful place to heal.

I don’t know why but I am happier than I expected to be right now.

I love being here and I am grateful for this day – with the awareness that it is the last day to have a Mother’s day while my son is 13. It’s the last day to have my body intact but tomorrow will be the first day of my new healing life. I’m committed to making it be the best life that anyone could hope for.

I’m ready to connect to the world and receive all of the love that is being extended to me now by so many wonderful people. I feel like there are no mistakes; this is all what is supposed to be happening.

BRING it; let’s get this thing over with so I can skate for the rest of being in my 50’s. And maybe even longer, who knows?

About thehotflashseattle

I'm a person who found derby at JUST the right time in my life to give me hope, make me stronger and experience something that had been waiting for me all these years! My mightiest goal is to mainstream the sport of roller derby. My selfish goal is to help other people find ways to skate,connect and inspire each other to get back on track when they begin to slip off and help them up when they fall. Doing this helps me believe that there are others ready to do the same for me. In 2012 I had four surgeries, two of which were mastectomies and now at 57 I'm cancer free and back on track. Three years ago on this profile I claimed not to be a "great" coach but wanted to share what I knew. I am revising that statement at this time because I have figured out that I'm a survivor, a warrior and a damn good coach! I am the founder of OneWorld Roller Derby in the Greater Seattle area. We are sharing our resources to help other leagues form and we're creating a circuit that is coming together utilizing USA Roller Sports as a common link. We are bring roller derby to schools, colleges, parks departments and community centers across the US. Helping each other through the pack is what makes life work for me. In the world we get knocked down, get back up, reset and help each other through the pack. We look ahead for the holes to jump through. We gain momentum to find the endurance we need to be able to make it around the track one more time even when we don't think we can. Derby = life = Derby; It's all the same game to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Endings and Beginnings

  1. Anne Green says:

    Love you Donna Kay Donna KayXXXOOOOO

  2. Carol DeMartin says:

    I wish you the best, tomorrow and all the days to follow.
    Nitro Dame
    SalisburyRollerGirls
    Circa 51 years

  3. Sheri says:

    Love you lady…. And love reading your thoughts. Oxoxoxoxox

  4. Jerry Seltzer says:

    I know women lie about their age, but you are in your 60th decade……revel in it.

  5. Posy Mortem #666, Salisbury Rollergirls says:

    You are an inspiration to so many older/aging derby players. May you take back the positive energy you have given us and transform it into a full and speedy recovery.

  6. Jen Kiernan says:

    WOW. You are such an inspiration! You are exactly the sort of person I want to be.

    I didn’t realize you had a 13-year-old son. Aren’t they great?? My son just turned 14 last month and he is really the awesomest guy I know.

    Wishing you strength and peace today, although it sounds like you already have plenty of both. Keep it up!

  7. Black Eyed Tease says:

    You are such an inspiration, The Hot Flash. I am sending you loving thoughts and healing energy.

    Black Eyed Tease
    OC Roller Girls

  8. I’m pretty sure that I meant to say 5’th decade.. funny.

Leave a Reply

