Roller Derby Coaching #5

THE COACH SETS THE TONE AND CONTROLS THE ENERGY OF THE GROUP.

If Skaters feel powerless they won’t be in control of their goal setting and it will be harder for them to act with intention. I like to go around the group at the beginning of each practice to ask the skaters what they’d like to work on; I think this can help them have awareness of why they are there. If someone is there to just get out of their house that is fine by me but it can help people focus if they have a goal for the day.

Teams need to have the guidelines in place and a unified goal to experience the group efficacy of champions. If a coach can’t follow this philosophy it will be nearly impossible for the skaters to rise up. Derby practice should be about basics, basics and more basics.

OK, growth isn’t easy; it can hurt and I think this: TEAMS SHOULD NOT COMPETE UNTIL THEY ARE FULLY COHESIVE AND HAVE A WINNING WARRIOR MIND AS ONE UNIT.

I also believe that until skating skills are mastered, most common derby drills will either be dangerous or innefective at best.

COMMUNICATION

If coaches are direct about their expectations it will pave the way for skaters to have accountability and accept feedback that is direct. If the overall environment lends itself to skaters stepping out of their comfort zone to try new things the energy will be driven by “aha” moments, sharing and empowerment. If this is achieved, then it could also diminish or eliminate cliques.

COMPETITION

If there is a discrepancy between:

1).the criteria identified by the coach and 2). who is actually “chosen” to be on the roster it will:
diminish the skater’s accountability for their own actions.

If skills are cut and dry about what is required for competition they’ll be better prepared to do what is necessary for the team and have a mind set to be ready to focus on their performance.

The goal is to prepare skaters to achieve the mind set of training and focusing. If you provide the information that is key in choosing an all star team, then everyone is prepared for not being chosen and may better understand the connection between performance, self motivation and what it takes to be an all star.

About thehotflashseattle

I'm a person who found derby at JUST the right time in my life to give me hope, make me stronger and experience something that had been waiting for me all these years! My mightiest goal is to mainstream the sport of roller derby. My selfish goal is to help other people find ways to skate,connect and inspire each other to get back on track when they begin to slip off and help them up when they fall. Doing this helps me believe that there are others ready to do the same for me. In 2012 I had four surgeries, two of which were mastectomies and now at 57 I'm cancer free and back on track. Three years ago on this profile I claimed not to be a "great" coach but wanted to share what I knew. I am revising that statement at this time because I have figured out that I'm a survivor, a warrior and a damn good coach! I am the founder of OneWorld Roller Derby in the Greater Seattle area. We are sharing our resources to help other leagues form and we're creating a circuit that is coming together utilizing USA Roller Sports as a common link. We are bring roller derby to schools, colleges, parks departments and community centers across the US. Helping each other through the pack is what makes life work for me. In the world we get knocked down, get back up, reset and help each other through the pack. We look ahead for the holes to jump through. We gain momentum to find the endurance we need to be able to make it around the track one more time even when we don't think we can. Derby = life = Derby; It's all the same game to me.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Hope, Inspiration, Roller Derby, skating enthusiast, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roller Derby Coaching #5

  1. I’m sorry, but this comment may be in the wrong place, but I just was reading Jerry Seltzer’s blog (I’m doing a paper and what else could it be but on derby) and I saw your comment that you offer classes through your local community college and parks & rec department. What a great idea!! We (the Merced Rollin’ Roulettes Derby Girls) believe in making a positive and substantial impact on our community, and what a great tool. Could you please send me information on how you went about this? kelarella@yahoo.com

    Again, kudos to you and I love your blog!

    Thank you,
    Kelarella de Vil
    Rollin’ Roulettes Derby Girls
    Merced, CA

Leave a Reply

