Windy Day in Seattle

Yes, this is good.  Derby isn’t the point of all what I’m up to here, it is a vehicle.

Here is / are the point (s):

I believe that the world is ready for a new sport. Those of us who have been skating roller derby know this, but the rest of the population is just starting to catch on.

I believe that most people are waiting for something good to happen in their lives, but just don’t quite know what that thing is they are waiting for. 

For most people, I believe life boils down to two things;  HOPE or RESIGNATION.  If someone is hopeful, it is more likely that they are happy. If someone is happy, it is more likely they are healthy.  If someone is unhappy and unhealthy they are probably living in resignation.  OK, so how does that relate to anything? Hang tight, I’m getting there.

IF a bunch of us work together to introduce a new sport that catches on, MANY more people are going to find a way to exercise, find hope, make new connections and have better lives. Who knows, maybe some of these people feeling better about their lives might get stronger and become happier? What if because they are happier they are better role models for their children? What if becoming stronger gives a person enough courage to make changes in their lives? And what if this leads to these very same people being so excited about getting healthy that they start to reach out to spread the news to other people?

Here is the thing.  It CAN happen, and it IS HAPPENING.  Right here in Seattle and Bellevue, and it’s going to spread to other communites because of the (MEASURED) success of our programs for kids and adults.  We can, will and are making a difference. 

Because of my fascination regarding the psychology of women and sports, women and self-esteem and the impact of this particular sport I’ve been doing some research. 

All along I’ve been also trying to find programs or a sport for my obese child, who does not and will not ever “fit in” to a sport as much as I would like him to.  Believe me I have tried. We’ve done OT, Social Skills, Yoga, Martial Arts, Therapy, Asperger’s groups. I’ve got a pool in my yard in the summer, I bought a heavy duty Occupational Therapy swing and put it on the ceiling, I’ve coached t-ball so he’d be more likely to go, only to have him stay home while I coach. I’ve gotten basketball hoops, scooters, bikes, balls you name it.  My kid is huge, and he is bullied.  He is also a great, funny, smart, talented and a kind person.

(Yes, this will all come together I promise).

One day my two interests collided head on.  From there, a new program came about called the Head High Program. http://headhighprogram.org . MY kid wants to be a peer coach.  MY couch potato kid is excited about this.  Because of DERBY, MY kid is going to possibly make a difference in another kids life,  and it never would have happened at all if I hadn’t  skated derby.

Through the rec league I met an awesome parent who has kid’s programs in Seattle, and it was love at first sight.  (for me anyway……….. Think Dr. Evil; It got weiirrrd didn’t it?”)

In fact, I’d already tried to reach her before I found out that her child is in a derby class with me.  This small world came together because it is so right.  She and I are teaming up to impact kids. The program will be offered and is already scheduled at the Parks Department and through the Phinney Neighborhood Association. I’ve already met with the Women’s Sports Foundation who is two thumbs up and sharing materials.  

With VERY much contemplation and deliberation I’ve come to a few conclusions.  My true heart’s desire is to skate competitively while I still can. 

None of us know what our “window” is, but lets face it; for me at age 54 it is likely much smaller than it is for other skaters.  If I go back to a private league, it will pull me away from my child, and from my work and my passion of bringing awareness to people that THEY CAN FIT IN somewhere, they can get healther – happier- hopeful- and have life go in whatever direction they choose.

As much as I adore my past team mates and have been 100% excited to skate with them again I’m not going to go back.  (Ok, plus I get a thingy in my eye and the Dr. said for 3 months I’m at a higher risk for retinal detachment and shouldn’t hit during this time, which normally I would ignore but took it as another sign from the universe).

And what I know for sure is that it won’t take very long for me to skate competitively again with the recreational leagues that are forming here, Seattle Roller Derby and at Belleve Skate King. http://seattlerollerderby.com

It’s all Freaking good.

Head High!

About thehotflashseattle

I'm a person who found derby at JUST the right time in my life to give me hope, make me stronger and experience something that had been waiting for me all these years! My mightiest goal is to mainstream the sport of roller derby. My selfish goal is to help other people find ways to skate,connect and inspire each other to get back on track when they begin to slip off and help them up when they fall. Doing this helps me believe that there are others ready to do the same for me. In 2012 I had four surgeries, two of which were mastectomies and now at 57 I'm cancer free and back on track. Three years ago on this profile I claimed not to be a "great" coach but wanted to share what I knew. I am revising that statement at this time because I have figured out that I'm a survivor, a warrior and a damn good coach! I am the founder of OneWorld Roller Derby in the Greater Seattle area. We are sharing our resources to help other leagues form and we're creating a circuit that is coming together utilizing USA Roller Sports as a common link. We are bring roller derby to schools, colleges, parks departments and community centers across the US. Helping each other through the pack is what makes life work for me. In the world we get knocked down, get back up, reset and help each other through the pack. We look ahead for the holes to jump through. We gain momentum to find the endurance we need to be able to make it around the track one more time even when we don't think we can. Derby = life = Derby; It's all the same game to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

